Knowledgebase: 1) FrogLearn
FrogLearn - Groups & Policies Application
Posted by , Last modified by Connor Hutchinson on 11 April 2019 10:08 AM

The Groups and Policies app allows for the management and creation of groups as well as controlling the policies that determine the access a group (or profile) has to different applications, widgets and settings. Once the application has been opened, you will find that you have a few options. You can search for a group using the search bar, or you can click on "Show All Groups" to reveal a list of every group on your platform.

Creating a Group on Frog

Any administrator on the Frog platform will be able to create new groups from within the Groups and Policies application. You can access this application in a number of ways.

On the left hand side of this app will be all of the current groups on the platform. Beside each group there is a number, indicating how many users are in this group. If you single left click a group to select it, the users in this group will be shown on the right hand side of this app.

When creating a new group, click on the blue “New Group” button to open up the following dialogue window.

It is here where you provide the group name and group type.

After typing in the required group name into the text entry field you then need to select a Group Type. Clicking the dropdown box will reveal the following options:

  • Class
  • Club
  • House
  • Job role
  • Location
  • Registration
  • Year

Once you have provided a group name and description click on the blue “Save” button. This will close this dialogue window and take you back to the main screen for the Groups & Policies application.

Editing a Group - Adding Users

Once a group has been created, you are then able to edit this group in order to add/remove users or even change policies which can grant or remove access to certain widgets or applications within the platform.

You are also able to modify the name or group type. When viewing the application, single left click the group from the left hand list. What you are able to do is change the name and/or group type by clicking the cog icon at the top of the list then “Edit Group”.

You will be presented with a window where you can change the name and group type if desired. From the same dropdown you can also delete the user group and also duplicate this group. Clicking "duplicate group" opens a dialogue allowing you to change the name and type of the group for the duplicate. The duplicate will have the same users/and modified policies as the original. When viewing the list of groups click on the desired group that you wish to add users to or change policies for then at the top right of this application click on “Edit”.

 

This will take you through to the users area for this group. Here you can type in the name of a user on your platform using the right hand text search box.

You can then single left click a user to move them into the group, as indicated by the user now appearing in the left hand list. Group members can be removed by clicking the grey X button to the right of their name.

A group member can also be made into a leader of the group by selecting the Leader toggle. This is more of an indicator to say which users are in charge of this group for example if staff and students are in a particular group you may wish to easily highlight the staff member. Users within the group can also be searched using the search bar on the left above the user list.

Once you’ve searched for and added all the required users into the group, clicking on the blue “Save” button will save these changes and return you to the group list.

 

Editing a Group – Changing Policies

What you are also able to do is change the policies on groups to grant access or prevent access to certain widgets or applications in the platform.

When you are editing a group there are 2 tabs at the top left of the application, one labelled “users” and another labelled “policy”. By clicking “policy” you will be presented with a list of policies that have been categorised on the right hand side. This window works in a similar way to adding users to a group.

Now, on the right hand side you can expand “Apps” or “Widgets” to view a list of the different policies/roles available on the platform. For the majority of options there is a blue information button that informs you what the policy actually means.

By clicking on one of the policies it will move it to the selection area on the left hand side. Here you will see each policy can be turned on or off for this user group (see screenshot for example). If the slider is green and set to “On” then that policy is enabled and when red and set to “Off” the policy is disabled.

Clicking the blue “Save” button will save your changes. Consequently any users in this group will be affected by the policy change. A notification will be shown in the top right of your window indicating your changes to this group have been saved.

Troubleshooting Policies

When viewing the Groups & Policies application you are able to troubleshoot any problems you encounter with users being able or unable to access elements of the platform you feel is incorrect. A good example of this may be that a student is in 2 different user groups, one providing access to create sites, and strictly stating that they should not be allowed to create sites.

You are able to use the search box to find a specific user or use the dropdown to select a profile (admin/staff/student/parent/other) to search through the list for a user. Once you select a user by single left clicking it in the list for it to be highlighted, on the right hand side you will be able to expand any of the 3 areas titled "groups", "apps", "widgets" or "Frog Developer Platform". By clicking "groups" you will be shown a list of all the groups that user is currently in.

By clicking on "apps" or "widgets" you can expand these areas to view what is accessible for that user as indicated by a red "no" or green "yes".

Clicking the blue information icon will display the groups that user is in, the policy dictation for whether that group allows this action to occur and the priority of these groups.

As an admin user, if you notice an issue you can then edit a group accordingly and change the users present or change the policies or simply re-arrange the priority of groups to ensure certain policies take precedence.

Managing Policy Group Priorities

As it is possible for a user to be a member of several groups, policy groups must be given a priority so that in the event that a user is a member of two or more policy groups, the correct policies can be applied to their account.

To manage policy group priorities select the Prioritise button when viewing the Groups and Policies application when not editing a group.

The group list will now change to display a list of the groups on the platform (not profiles) that have had any custom policies applied.

Here you can now drag and drop by using your left mouse button over the selector icon (beside the group type in the right hand column) to move the order of this list to ensure certain groups policies take precedence over others.

Once you are happy with your changes, click the blue "Save" button to return to the main Groups view.

(2 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please complete the below captcha challenge (we use this to prevent automated submissions).