Knowledgebase : 2) Frog 3 > User Management
   

The easiest way to make changes to large numbers of user accounts is through the process of CSV export and import. This process can be used to alter many fields including usernames, passwords, network folders and user groups.

For the import to work to modify existing users, the CSV file must contain the UniqueID of the user.  It is recommended that modifications are done based on a CSV file exported from Frog. 

If the UniqueID is not contained in the CSV file or is incorrect, new users will be created or users could be updated incorrectly.

From the Toolkit, click the admin tab then the users button.  When the search dialogue window appears, please ensure that UID is ticked along with any of the other fields that you wish to change.  You may wish to narrow down the results to a particular login profile or MIS year group in order to make the CSV file easier to work with. 

Once you are happy with your selections, (making sure that UID is included), click OK.

When the search has finished you will be presented with a list of users matching your criteria.  You should click on the Export List button.

Export List will take the results that are currently displayed and export them as a CSV, Export List will only appear immediately after the results of a search.  If a user is selected from the search results, the Export List option will disappear.  If this is the case a new search will have to be carried out in order to export the results.
 
The user import takes the first row from the CSV file as a description of what is in each column, so the first row should be a header row containing the name of what is within the column.  As we have exported this CSV from Frog, the header row shows headers to match fields in Frog. 

This CSV file can be edited in Excel.  Please ensure that the UID column is not changed.  Once the csv file has been updated with the changes required, it can be imported back into Frog. 

From the User list, click Import Users.  Follow the steps in the wizard taking care to upload and select the correct CSV file.  When asked to map the fields in the database to the csv please make sure that UID is mapped against Unique ID.  The only other fields that require mapping are those containing updated data. 

The same process can be used for manually creating users if an MIS import is not being used.  If you are unsure of any of the above steps or would like us to check the CSV file prior to importing, please let us know.

Teaching groups that are automatically populated by the MIS often change year on year due to classes moving around and year groups moving up.  As a result of this, you may find that there are a number of what appear to be duplicated groups in your group list. 

When a group no longer exists in the MIS, Frog will mark the group as no longer linked to the MIS and the members of the group will be removed.  Frog does not automatically delete these groups. 


The following procedure involves the manual deletion of groups.  Please read the instructions carefully and completely before proceeding


We would recommend that the following steps are carried out to remove the old groups at the start of each academic year. 

  • Log into the Toolkit
  • Click on the Admin tab
  • Click on the Users button
  • Cancel the search box that appears and click on the Groups heading in the top left corner.

When the list of groups appears there will be two headings, group name and MIS.  A * in the MIS column indicates that this group is active in the MIS and is write protected in that it cannot be deleted.  Clicking on the MIS column will arrange these groups into either linked or unlinked which makes it easy to remove them.  It may take some time for Frog to display an updated, sorted list especially when it is dealing with thousands of groups.  Your browser may appear to crash, in this case simply wait for the operation to complete and the groups should be displayed. 

Click on the first unlinked group and hold down shift on your keyboard.  Scroll down until you see the very last group.  Clicking on this group should highlight all of the groups with no * in the column. 

Prior to deleting these groups, please be aware that any groups manually created by the school and by Frog will also be in this list.  Hitting delete now would remove these groups.  To prevent this, hold down the Ctrl key and single click on any groups that you wish to retain.  Once you have a complete list of groups selected that you wish to delete, hit the delete key on the keyboard or click delete group.

Groups manually created by Frog may have names such as:

*VLE Admin
*Website Admin
*Governor Admin

Deleting these groups may result in loss of VLE functionality including the ability to use and access certain areas of the VLE.  Please take care when selecting groups to delete.

Please be aware that once a group has been deleted from Frog, there is no way to restore it. 
 
Once the groups are deleted, they will be removed from the groups list. 


A similar process can be followed to delete any old users that may be on your Frog server.

Please remember that some manual accounts may exist and should not be deleted.